Pre-Requisite: EE 309 Signal and Linear System AnalysisXX

Co-Requisite: EE 402 Control Systems Lab

Fall 2013 Schedule: M/W/F 10:20 a.m. 11:20 a.m. in KEC 117

Instructor: Dr. Stephen Bruder (bruders@erau.edu)

Textbook:Feedback Control Systems, 5/E by Charles L. Phillips and John Parr

Course Description:

Modeling, analysis, and design of analog and digital linear control systems using time and frequency domain techniques. Topics include feedback control system characteristics performance analysis and stability, Z-transforms, and controller design.

Course Objectives:

Grading Scheme (See Grading Policy):

Homework Assignments 25%
Two Mid-Term Exams 40%
Final Exam 30%
Class Participation 5%

Class Schedule:

Week # Dates Topic Assignments, Solutions, & Handouts Reading
1 Monday, August 26, 2013 Course overview, intro to control, & background review (ppt, pdf) Laplace_Transform_Table.pdf
Laplace_Transform_Properties.pdf
Chapter 1
Wednesday, August 28, 2013 The Laplace transform, key properties of the LT (ppt, pdf) Laplace_Example_4.m
Laplace_Example_4.mn
Appendix B
Friday, August 30, 2013

System modeling: Electrical systems

Hwk_1.pdf Chap 2: Sec 2.1 & 2.2
2 Monday, September 02, 2013 -- Labor Day Holiday --  
Wednesday, September 04, 2013 Block diagram manipulation.
Modeling mechanical translational systems

Block_diagram_reduction.pdf (ppt)
A 2nd Mech Linear example.pdf
block_diag_reduction_ex.m

Chap 2: Sec 2.3 & 2.5
Friday, September 06, 2013 Modeling mechanical rotational systems
Electromechanical systems
Modeling the DC servomotor (ppt, pdf)

Chap 2: Sec 2.6 & 2.7.2

3 Monday, September 09, 2013 Linearization Hwk_2.pdf
Soln_1.pdf
Chap 2: Sec 2.14
Wednesday, September 11, 2013 System time response

Time Response of 2nd Order Systems (ppt, pdf)
second_order_sys.m
second_order_sys_sim.nb

Chap 4: Sec 4.1 &4.2
Friday, September 13, 2013

Time response specifications
System frequency response

time_resp_specs.m

Chap 4: Sec 4.3 & 4.4
4 Monday, September 16, 2013

higher_order_sys (ppt, pdf)

Hwk_3.pdf
Soln_2
Higher_Order_Sys.m
Chap 4: Sec 4.6
Wednesday, September 18, 2013 System characteristics: stability   Chap 5: Sec 5.1 & 5.2
Friday, September 20, 2013 System characteristics: sensitivity, disturbance rejection

Sensitivity_example.pptx
sensitivity_example.nb

Chap 5: Sec 5.3 & 5.4
5 Monday, September 23, 2013 System steady state response Soln_3.pdf (code) Chap 5: Sec 5.5
Wednesday, September 25, 2013 Stability analysis: Routh-Hurwitz   Chap 6:
Friday, September 27, 2013 Mid-Term Exam #1 Mid #1 Soln  
6 Monday, September 30, 2013 Root locus: Analysis

Hwk_4.pdf
Examples

Chap 7: Sec 7.1, 7.2
Wednesday, October 02, 2013 Root locus: Analysis RL_4th_example.m Chap 7: Sec 7.5
Friday, October 04, 2013 Root locus: Design

Root_Locus_example1 (ppt, pdf)
RL_5th_example.m

Chap 7: Sec 7.6 - 7.8
7 Monday, October 07, 2013 Root locus: Design Lead/Lag

RL Lead example (pdf)
Hwk_5.pdf
Soln_4.pdf

Chap 7: Sec 7.9
Wednesday, October 09, 2013 Root locus: Design PID RL_PID_example (ppt, pdf)
RL_6th_example.m
Chap 7: Sec 7.10
Friday, October 11, 2013 -- Fall Break --    
8 Monday, October 14, 2013 Frequency response: Bode Diagrams Hwk_6.pdf
Soln_5.pdf
FR_ex_1.m
Chap 8: Sec 8.1 & 8.2
Wednesday, October 16, 2013 Frequency response: Bode Diagrams

Freq Resp Ex2(ppt, pdf)
FR_ex_2.m
FR_ex_3.m

Chap 8: Sec 8.3
Friday, October 18, 2013 Frequency response: Stability Relative Stability(ppt, pdf)
Relative_stability_example.m
Chap 8: Sec 8.6
9 Monday, October 21, 2013 Frequency response design: Specs Hwk_7.pdf
Soln_6.pdf
Chap 9: Sec 9.1
Wednesday, October 23, 2013 Frequency response design: Compensation (Lead) FR_lead_lag.m Chap 9: Sec 9.4 - 9.6
Friday, October 25, 2013 Frequency response design: Compensation (Lag) A Lead Design Example (ppt, pdf) Chap 9: Sec 9.4 - 9.6
10 Monday, October 28, 2013 Frequency response design: Compensation (PID) A PID Design Example (ppt, pdf)
Soln_7.pdf
Chap 9: Sec Sec 9.8 - 9.10
Wednesday, October 30, 2013 In-class example & review    
Friday, November 01, 2013 Mid-Term Exam #2 Mid #2 Soln  
11 Monday, November 04, 2013 Discrete-time systems: The Z-transform Hwk_8.pdf Chap 11: Sec 11.1 to 11.6
Wednesday, November 06, 2013 Discrete-time systems: Diff. eqn. solution   Chap 11: Sec 11.4 & 11.5
Friday, November 08, 2013 Sample data systems: Ideal sampling & data reconstruction   Chap 12: Sec 12.2 & 12.3
12 Monday, November 11, 2013 -- Veterans Day Holiday -- Hwk_9.pdf  
Wednesday, November 13, 2013 Student Lab 8 Presentations: Intro & simulation Soln_8.pdf Chap 12: Sec 12.4 & 12.5
Friday, November 15, 2013 Sample data systems: Transfer function

Pulse_TF_example1.m
Pulse_TF_example2.m

Chap 12: Sec 12.6 to 12.8
13 Monday, November 18, 2013 Digital control systems: Stability and Mapping s to z

Hwk_10.pdf
Soln_9.pdf
Pulse_TF_example3.m
Map_s2z_domains.m
Mapping_s_to_z_domain(ppt, pdf)

Chap 13: Sec 13.2 & 13.3
Wednesday, November 20, 2013 Digital control systems: root locus and the Bilinear transform

A root locus example (ppt, pdf)
discrete_root_locus.m

Chap 13: Sec 13.4 & 13.5
Friday, November 22, 2013 Digital control systems: RH-test and Bode

A Routh-Hurwizt example(ppt, pdf)
bode_example.m

Chap 13: Sec 13.7 to 13.9
14 Monday, November 25, 2013 Digital control systems: Lead / Lag

Hwk_11.pdf
Soln_10.pdf
digital_Lead_design (ppt, pdf)
digital_phase_lead.m

Chap 13: Sec 13.11 & 13.12
Wednesday, November 27, 2013 -- Thanksgiving Holiday --    
Friday, November 29, 2013 -- Thanksgiving Holiday --    
15 Monday, December 02, 2013 Digital control systems: PID   Chap 13: Sec 13.13
Wednesday, December 04, 2013

Honors student presentation: "Fixed Wing Aircraft Stability and Control" by Chris Buj.

Video: "The astounding athletic power of quadcopters"

Soln_11.pdf Chap 13: Sec 13.14
Friday, December 06, 2013 Study day    
16 Thursday, December 12, 2013
TIME: 10:15-12:15

Final Exam
in KEC 128